Skip to main content

CELT announces faculty cohort for 2024-25 Teaching Innovation Institute

By Trey Conatser 

LEXINGTON, Ky. (April 23, 2024) — The University of Kentucky Center for the Enhancement of Learning and Teaching has announces the 2024-25 Teaching Innovation Institute faculty members. This cohort represents 11 colleges and 24 departments or schools across UK. They are:

  • Kristi Bartlett, Department of Product Design; College of Design.
  • Kari Benguria, School of Information Science, College of Communication and Information.
  • Roger Brown, Department of Agricultural Economics, Martin-Gatton College of Agriculture, Food, and Environment.
  • Juan Fernandez Cantero, Department of Hispanic Studies; College of Arts and Sciences.
  • Thom Cochell, Department of Chemical and Materials Engineering, Pigman College of Engineering.
  • Emily DeWitt, Department of Dietetics and Human Nutrition, Martin-Gatton College of Agriculture, Food and Environment.
  • Abigail Firey, Department of History, College of Arts and Sciences.
  • Adriane Grumbein, Department of Integrated Strategic Communication, College of Communication and Information.
  • Whitney Hanley, Department of Early Childhood, Special Education and Counselor Education, College of Education.
  • Jason Hans, Department of Family Sciences, Martin-Gatton College of Agriculture, Food and Environment.
  • April Hatcher, Department of Neuroscience, College of Medicine.
  • Jane Jensen, Department of Educational Policy Studies and Evaluation, College of Education.
  • Yeonjung Kang, Department of Retailing and Tourism Management, Martin-Gatton College of Agriculture, Food and Environment.
  • Patrick Lee Lucas, School of Interiors, College of Design.
  • Joe Martin, School of Information Science; College of Communication and Information
  • Pratishtha Mishra, Department of Oral Health Practice, College of Dentistry.
  • Darshak Patel, Department of Economics; Gatton College of Business and Economics.
  • Michael Pennell, Department of Writing, Rhetoric and Digital Studies, College of Arts and Sciences.
  • Winter Phong, Department of Arts Administration, College of Fine Arts.
  • Kristel Scoresby, College of Social Work.
  • Pooja Sidney, Department of Psychology, College of Arts and Sciences.
  • Alice Turkington, Department of Geography, College of Arts and Sciences.
  • Kristine Urschel, Department of Animal and Food Sciences, Martin-Gatton College of Agriculture, Food and Environment.
  • Heather Worne, Department of Anthropology, College of Arts and Sciences.
  • Ozge Yalciner, Department of Curriculum and Instruction; College of Education.

For more information about CELT, click here.

As the state’s flagship, land-grant institution, the University of Kentucky exists to advance the Commonwealth. We do that by preparing the next generation of leaders — placing students at the heart of everything we do — and transforming the lives of Kentuckians through education, research and creative work, service and health care. We pride ourselves on being a catalyst for breakthroughs and a force for healing, a place where ingenuity unfolds. It's all made possible by our people — visionaries, disruptors and pioneers — who make up 200 academic programs, a $476.5 million research and development enterprise and a world-class medical center, all on one campus.   

In 2022, UK was ranked by Forbes as one of the “Best Employers for New Grads” and named a “Diversity Champion” by INSIGHT into Diversity, a testament to our commitment to advance Kentucky and create a community of belonging for everyone. While our mission looks different in many ways than it did in 1865, the vision of service to our Commonwealth and the world remains the same. We are the University for Kentucky.